David Wineland

Philip H. Knight Distinguished Research Chair and Research Professor, Department of Physics, University of Oregon

David Wineland received a B.A. degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1965 and a Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1970.  Following a postdoctoral position at the University of Washington in Seattle, he joined the Time and Frequency Division of NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) in Boulder, Colorado, from 1975 to 2017, where he was a group leader and NIST Fellow.  He is now a Philip H. Knight Distinguished Research Chair and Research Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Oregon in Eugene.

Starting with graduate school, a long-term goal of his work has been to increase the precision of atomic spectroscopy, the measurement of the frequencies of atoms’ characteristic vibrations.  This research has applications to making better atomic clocks and has led to experiments that enable precise control of atomic energy levels and atomic motion.  Such control can be applied to metrology whose precision is limited only by the constraints of quantum mechanics and to demonstrations of the basic building blocks of a quantum computer.  For this work, he shared the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics with Serge Haroche, Collège de France, Paris.

Youngjin Yoo

Elizabeth M. and William C. Treuhaft Professorship in Entrepreneurship, Faculty Director, D&I Initiatives, Professor, Design & Innovation, Case Western Reserve University

Youngjin Yoo, PhD, is the Elizabeth M. and William C. Treuhaft Professor of Entrepreneurship and professor of information systems in the Department of Design & Innovation at the Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University. He has a joint appointment at University Hospitals of Cleveland as Innovation Architect, overseeing the digital transformation efforts at one of the largest teaching hospital systems in the country. He is also WBS Distinguished Research Environment Professor at Warwick Business School, UK.

Fabian Schmahl

President & CEO, thyssenkrupp Bilstein of America, Inc., Components Technology

Fabian Schmahl was named President & CEO of thyssenkrupp Bilstein of America, Inc. in April 2008. He is responsible for managing the development and manufacture of premium quality, high performance automotive suspension solutions for Original Equipment, Aftermarket and Motorsports applications. Schmahl oversees the operations of thyssenkrupp Bilstein locations in Hamilton, Ohio (headquarters); Poway, California; Troy, Michigan; and Mooresville, North Carolina. Since 2011, thyssenkrupp Bilstein has completed three major expansions to facilitate the implementation of the latest technologies in the industry while expanding its Hamilton workforce by 500 employees.

Jeff Baetz

Global Industry CTO, Industrial Market Sales for Data, AI, ML, Deep Learning, and Data Science Elite, IBM

26-year Software Solutions, Consulting, and Industrial/Manufacturing Market Veteran.

Since joining IBM in August of 2016, Jeff has held positions as an Open Source Analytics Evangelist, Named Account Manager, and Analytics Portfolio Sales Leader assigned to Toyota, TFS, Lexus, Ford, Ford Motor Credit Corporation, FCA, Aptiv, Delphi Technologies, Boeing, and Honda North America – all within the IBM Industrial vertical market.

In April 2020, IBM promoted Jeff to the position of Industry CTO for the Industrial Market and is focused on sales & solutioning for our Automotive, Manufacturing, Oil & Gas, and Mining clients worldwide.

Nitin Manoharan

Director, Global Head Enterprise Architecture & Tech Innovation, Philip Morris

Nitin is a Director, Global Head Enterprise Architecture & Tech Innovation at Philip Morris. He and his team are responsible for the evolution of PMI’s global technology strategy, architecture, and innovation. Before joining PMI, he was the Director, Industry Strategy & Insight group at Oracle Corporation in London, UK. At Oracle, Nitin and his team led strategy formulation and roadmap of Major Business Transformations leveraging emerging technologies such as Cloud, Big Data, AI, and IoT. Over ten years, he held various senior roles at Oracle. Before that, he worked for Siebel Systems and IBM. He is passionate about Startups, Angel Investment, and Venture Capital. He was in the management team of Chicago Booth Angles Network, where was instrumental in leading Seed and Series-A investment for several startups. He has also served on the Board of Advisors for successful startups. He holds an MBA from the University Of Chicago Booth School Of Business with a concentration in Venture Strategy & Entrepreneurial Finance and a Masters from Oxford University, where his research dissertation was ‘Do Business Transformations in Traditional organizations create Enterprise Value. Evidence from the CPG industry?’ He is a Doctoral (Ph.D.) candidate at the Warwick Business School researching on ‘Decentralized Intelligent Autonomous Units.’

Ronald Fry

Professor of Organizational Behavior, Fowler Center for Business as Agent for World Benefit, Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University

Ron is Professor of Organizational Behavior at the Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University and former Chairman of the Department of Organizational Behavior, consistently ranked one of the best in the world by the Financial Times. He has been honored with the University Award for Outstanding Teacher in the Professional Schools and the Weatherhead School’s Lifetime Service Award. He received his MS and PhD from the Sloan School at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology after completing a BS in Engineering at the University of California at Los Angeles.

With 11 books and over 45 articles and chapters, Ron is widely published in the areas of Organizational Development, Appreciative Inquiry, Team Building, Change Management, Executive Development and the role and functioning of the CEO. He is a co-creator of the Appreciative Inquiry (AI) theory and method, and continues to both apply and study the applications of AI in the field. His most recent books are Appreciative Inquiry: A Positive Approach to Building Cooperative Capacity (Taos Publishing), with Frank Barrett, and Appreciative Team Building with Diana Whitney, Jay Cherney and Amanda Trsten-Bloom (iUniverse). He has also co-edited Appreciative Inquiry and Organizational Transformation: Reports from the field (Quorum) and the Handbook of Transformative Cooperation (Stanford University Press).



Back to Digital Futures